HindustanTimes Wed,26 Nov 2014

Modi introduces ministers in RS

PTI  New Delhi, June 10, 2014
First Published: 16:47 IST(10/6/2014) | Last Updated: 16:51 IST(10/6/2014)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday introduced to the Rajya Sabha 43 of the 44 members of his council of ministers.

All the ministers were introduced in the House, barring minister of state for heavy industries Pon Radhakrishnan, who was absent.

Finance, corporate and defence minister Arun Jaitley was late for the introduction, while road transport, highways, shipping and rural development minister Nitin Gadkari could just make it when his introduction was halfway through.

Those introduced included BJP top brass including home minister Rajnath Singh, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and parliamentary affairs, urban development, housing and poverty alleviation minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

Among the ministers representing BJP's allies were minister for consumer affairs, food and public distribution Ram Vilas Paswan (LJP), heavy industries and public enterprises minister Anant Geete (Shiv Sena), food processing minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal (SAD) and civil aviation minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju (TDP).

Others introduced by the Prime Minister included social justice and empowerment minister T C Gehlot, HRD minister Smriti Zubin Irani and health and family welfare minister Harsh Vardhan.

Modi introduced Ministers in Hindi.

There are 22 cabinet ministers, 10 ministers of state with independent charge and 12 ministers of state.

more from India

Maharashtra students to become active stake-holders in Swachh Bharat drive

Mumbai University's 'Munijan' scheme in its new avatar will now cover 18 agriculture and non-agriculture universities which have over 4500 colleges with yearly turnout of more than five lakh students.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved