HindustanTimes Thu,25 Dec 2014

Nagaland assembly polls tomorrow, 188 in fray

PTI  Kohima, February 22, 2013
First Published: 08:57 IST(22/2/2013) | Last Updated: 08:59 IST(22/2/2013)

Nagaland goes to the polls on Saturday to elect 60 members to the 12th assembly from among 188 candidates with an 11.93 lakh electorate.


Prominent candidates whose fate will be decided are chief minister Neiphiu Rio from Northern Angami II, Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie from Western Angami, Opposition leader Tokheho Yepthomi from Dimapur III, Congress president SI Jamir from Dimapur II and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen from Koridang.

There are 39 independents and two women among the contestants.

Of the two women nominees, Rakhila has been fielded by the BJP from Tuensang Sadar-II and Dr Yangerla, an independent is contesting from Mokokchung Town.

The ruling Naga People's Front is the only party contesting all the 60 seats.

The opposition Congress is contesting 57 seats, followed by NCP in 15, BJP in 11, JD-U in three, RJD in two and the United Nagaland Democratic Party in one.

Of the 2023 polling stations, 821 have been identified as sensitive and 662 as hyper sensitive.

The NPF received a jolt ahead of the election when home minister Imkong L Imchen was arrested on February 18 for allegedly carrying over Rs. one crore in cash, arms and ammunition and liquor in his vehicle.

In the outgoing 11th Nagaland assembly, the ruling NPF had 35 members and the support of six independents, while Congress had 18 members backed by an independent.

Altogether 255 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed in the state for the elections. Counting will be held on February 28.

more from India

Cong backs Sayeed to lead new government in JK

As the deadlock over government formation in Jammu and Kashmir continued, the state unit of Congress on Thursday backed PDP patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed to lead the new dispensation to respect the people's verdict in the just-concluded Assembly elections.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved