HindustanTimes Sat,20 Sep 2014

Ashwani back in front rows of Rajya Sabha

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  New Delhi, August 06, 2013
First Published: 01:55 IST(6/8/2013) | Last Updated: 03:56 IST(6/8/2013)

Former law minister Ashwani Kumar was partially reinstated on the first day of the monsoon session of Parliament on Monday.


Kumar, who had to resign in May following allegations of interference in the Central Bureau of Investgation’s (CBI) status report on the coal blocks allocation scam, has been nominated to Parliament’s public accounts committee (PAC) and the parliamentary standing committee on defence.

He will also retain his seat in the front row of the Rajya Sabha, according to sources.

The former minister, who had been maintaining a low profile since his resignation and had even chosen to stay away from the media, was seen in Parliament on Monday.

Kumar is also learnt to have met Prime Minister Manmohan Singh during the day and discussed developments related to the monsoon session of Parliament, though he declined to comment on what transpired in the meeting.

The former law minister, who is a Rajya Sabha MP from Punjab, had been a public accounts committee member earlier also, before he was inducted in the council of ministers.

A senior Supreme Court lawyer, Kumar had gone back to his legal practice immediately after quitting as law minister in May after an unrelenting opposition had charged him with tampering with the CBI investigation in the coal scam, which he consistently denied.

CBI director Ranjit Sinha had filed an affidavit before the Supreme Court on May 6, confirming that the status report had been “shared” with Kumar and an officer each from the coal ministry and the Prime Minister’s Office “as desired by them.”

more from New Delhi

AAP accuses Jung of stopping them to send J-K aid

AAP on Friday accused LieutenantGovernor Najeeb Jung of preventing its MLAs from sending relief package to Jammu and Kashmir by "raising an objection" to the transfer of Rs 20 lakh from the funds of each of its 27 legislators to Jammu and Kashmir CM fund.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved