HindustanTimes Sat,20 Sep 2014

Former HT editor Ajit Bhattacharjea breathes his last

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, April 05, 2011
First Published: 00:49 IST(5/4/2011) | Last Updated: 00:50 IST(5/4/2011)

Veteran journalist Ajit Bhattacharjea died on Monday at the age of 86. He was diagnosed with brain tumour six months back. He will be cremated at the Lodhi Road crematorium at 10.30 am on Tuesday.


A close associate of Jayaprakash Narayan, Bhattacharjea began his journalistic career as a sub-editor and reporter at the Hindustan Times in 1946 and went on to become the newspaper’s editor. He was also the HT correspondent in Washington.

KK Katyal, who was Bhattacharjea’s colleague at HT in the 1960s, remembered him as “a highly likeable person” both personally and professionally. “I had known him for decades. There was nothing flashy about him — he was solid and sober,” said Katyal.

Bhattacharjea edited The Times of India and Indian Express in his illustrious journalistic career and also served as the director of the Press Institute of India (PII). He chose to edit Jayaprakash Narayan’s weekly Everyman’s when restrictions were imposed on the media during the Emergency.

Usha Rai, his deputy at the PII, said, “He would always stand up for the underdog. His writings revolved around issues that touched the lives of the common man. The right to information movement was very close to his heart.”

A prolific writer, Bhattacharjea authored several books, including the biographies of Jayaprakash Narayan and Kashmir’s Sheikh Abdullah.

He was also a fellow of the Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla and the editor of Transparency Review, a journal of the Centre of Media Studies, New Delhi, which focuses on right to information.

more from New Delhi

AAP accuses Jung of stopping them to send J-K aid

AAP on Friday accused LieutenantGovernor Najeeb Jung of preventing its MLAs from sending relief package to Jammu and Kashmir by "raising an objection" to the transfer of Rs 20 lakh from the funds of each of its 27 legislators to Jammu and Kashmir CM fund.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved