HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014

Rs 80 for 18-min Metro ride from N Delhi to IGI from today

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, February 23, 2011
First Published: 00:18 IST(23/2/2011) | Last Updated: 00:21 IST(23/2/2011)

From Wednesday you can reach Indira Gandhi International Airport in just 18 minutes and for Rs. 80.


Finally, after missing several deadlines, the much awaited showcase airport metro expressline is going to open for commuters, especially those bound for the airport. However, the line will be formally inaugurated later when all the promised facilities will be available.

This 23 km line - the first of its kind that was built on a PPP model in the country - will open for commuters at 2 pm from the New Delhi station. Till the two stations - Dhaula Kuan and Aerocity (NH8) - are opened, the metro train will stop only at Shivaji Stadium station.

As of now, commuters will not be able to use facilities such as baggage check-in and passenger handling - one of the main USPs of the service - as airlines haven't opened their counters at the metro stations.

Passenger check in facilities was proposed at New Delhi, Shivaji Stadium and Dhaula Kuan stations, while baggage handling was proposed at New Delhi and Shivaji Stadium stations.

Delhi Airport Metro Express Pvt Ltd, a special purpose company of Reliance Infrastructure and the concessionaire company for the line, is though hopeful that the long pending issue will be sorted out soon.

Lalit Jalan, CEO of Reliance Infrastructure told Hindustan Times: "Matter is almost sorted out between DAMEPL and DIAL, with intervention of civil Aviation ministry, and soon the facilities will be available at the metro stations."

DAMEPL will also introduce a helpline for commuters' convenience. "The helpline number 30802080 will be active during the operation hours, from 6 am till 10 pm," said a DAMEPL spokesperson.

more from New Delhi

Dhaula Kuan gangrape: All 5 convicts get life in jail

Additional sessions judge Virender Bhat, who had last Friday reserved his order, sentenced Usman, Shamshad, Shahid, Iqbal and Kamruddin to life imprisonment. He also imposed a fine of Rs. 50,000 on each of them.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved