HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014

Newly elected Cong MLAs to elect CLP leader today

PTI  Shimla, December 22, 2012
First Published: 09:27 IST(22/12/2012) | Last Updated: 09:29 IST(22/12/2012)

The crucial meeting of newly elected Congress MLAs to choose the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader would be held at state Congress office in Shimla on Saturday.


The Congress high command has deputed Delhi chief minister Sheila Dixit and AICC general secretary, Janardan Dwivedi as observers while general secretary Anis Ahmed would also be present at the meeting.

The Congress secured wafer thin majority in 68 member assembly winning 36 seats but it was not averse to seeking support of two Congress rebels.

HPCC president and five time chief minister Virbhadra Singh, who steered the party to victory is front runner for the top post while his detractors are banking on the High Command to stall him from becoming chief minister for the sixth time.

Meanwhile, Virbhadra in Shimla said that the high command would decide the leader, keeping in view the sentiments of the people who voted Congress back to power.

The names of Union minister of Commerce and Industry Anand Sharma and former HPCC president Kaul Singh are also making the rounds but no leader has so far openly staked his claim for CLP leadership.

more from India

Khaitan denied bail, to spend Diwali in jail

Businessman-cum-lawyer Gautam Khaitan is likely to spend this Diwali in jail, where he’s been lodged since his arrest by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) 28 days ago in the Rs 3,600 AgustaWestland scam, as a Delhi court Monday denied his bail application.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved