HindustanTimes Wed,01 Oct 2014

Nine BJP ministers, Speaker lose in Gujarat

Press Trust of India, PTI  Ahmedabad, December 16, 2002
First Published: 17:03 IST(15/12/2002) | Last Updated: 11:27 IST(16/12/2002)

Despite the saffron wave sweeping major parts of Gujarat, at least nine senior ministers of the BJP including former chief minister Suresh Mehta and Assembly Speaker Dhirubhai Shah met their waterloo in the state assembly elections.


Mehta and Shah lost from Mandvi and Rapar constituencies respectively in the Kutch region, a stronghold of BJP, which was hit hard by a devastating earthquake two years ago.

Prominent losers included the high-profile Gujarat government spokesman and close associate of Narendra Modi, Purushottam Rupala from Amreli of Saurashtra region and state finance minister Nitin Patel from Kadi in Mehsana district of North Gujarat.

Other Cabinet ministers, who tasted defeat include prohibition minister Fakir Vaghela from Surendranagar, irrigation minister Babu Bokhiria from Porbander and minister for labour and employment Kanji Patel from Chikli in South Gujarat.

Minister for state for mines and minerals Mulu Bera from Bhanvad constituency in Saurashtra, MoS co-operation Vadibhai Patel from Gandhinagar and MoS panchayats Ranchhod Desai were also skittled out.

Former Narmada minister Jaynarayan Vyas was also humbled from his hometurf Sidhpur constituency in North Gujarat.

more from India

Don’t blame us for Cong-NCP split: Sonia

The alliance with Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in Maharashtra was not broken by Rahul Gandhi, said Congress president Sonia Gandhi, while responding to allegations by NCP chief Sharad Pawar.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved