18 Maoists surrender in Andhra Pradesh

  • Press Trust of India, Hyderabad
  • |
  • Updated: Jan 12, 2007 14:22 IST
Eighteen extremists, including four "deputy commanders" of different groups, surrendered in Khammam district of Andhra Pradesh on Saturday.

Of the 18 surrendered naxalites, four belonged to CPI Maoist, two to Janasakhti, four were of Prathighatna and eight belonged to the Prajapratighatna group.

The naxals surrendered to Khammam Superintendent of Police RK Meena.

Disillusionment with naxal ideology and ill-health were the reasons for their surrender, he said

While P Nagesh alias Kumar, a "deputy commander" belonged to Pratighatna group, B Babu, G Pichaiah alias Sreenu and Venkanna alias Kranti were "deputy commanders" in the Vijayan dalam of Prajapatighatna group.

Meena said the police also recovered about Rs 32 lakh cash in Lachagudem forest area.

The cash was found in a kitbag after a brief exchange of fire between a police party and naxals in the forest area, he said, adding the naxals managed to escape.

Police have arrested two contractors - Md Rasool, a former TDP leader and Sreedhar Varma - in connection with the amount, he said.


also read

Hunt on for Maoists in Chhattisgarh

blog comments powered by Disqus