HindustanTimes Thu,23 Oct 2014

SP wants parliamentary committee for petroleum

PTI  New Delhi, August 07, 2009
First Published: 20:26 IST(7/8/2009) | Last Updated: 20:27 IST(7/8/2009)
Amid pulls and pressures among political parties over securing key panels, Samajwadi Party has sought the chairmanship of one of the three key Parliamentary standing committees - petroleum and natural gas, energy or IT.


Sources said Trinamool Congress, BSP, Left parties, JD-U, and DMK will get chairmanship of one standing committee with DMK likely to get the committee concerning their relevant ministries.

BJP is likely to get chairmanship of finance and rural development and Home, while Congress that of HRD, they said.

The Left is expected to continue as head of the standing committee for transport, which also includes civil aviation.

The chairmanship of privileges committee of Lok Sabha is expected to go to Congress with the name of senior member Pawan Singh Ghatowar doing the rounds for the job.

The sources said senior BJP leader Jaswant Singh would head the prestigious Public Accounts Committee while senior Congress leader V Kishore Chandra Deo would lead the Public Undertakings Committee.

Sources said senior Congress Lok Sabha member Francisco Sardinha would head the Estimates Committee while Govindchandra Naskar of Trinamool Congress will head the SC/ST Committee.

more from India

Modi announces Rs 745 crore relief for Kashmir's flood-hit homes and hospitals

The Prime Minister said the relief of Rs 570 crores was for rehabilitation of the flood affected and Rs 175 crores for renovation of six hospitals in the state. This is the PM's fourth visit to the state since he came to power in May.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved