HindustanTimes Sun,26 Oct 2014

Andhra division: 4 Seemandhra MPs submit resignation letters again

PTI  New Delhi, October 21, 2013
First Published: 22:07 IST(21/10/2013) | Last Updated: 22:09 IST(21/10/2013)

Four MPs from Seemandhra region including L Rajagopal on Monday submitted again their resignation letters in protest against division of Andhra Pradesh, after Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar rejected them on Friday.


While Rajagopal, A Sai Prathap and Sabbam Hari tendered their resignations to secretary general of Lok Sabha, another MP, Vundavalli Aruna Kumar, sent his resignation through his assistant.

"I am elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from Vijayawada constituency of Andhra Pradesh. I hereby tender my resignation to the membership of Lok Sabha and request you to kindly accept my resignation," says Rajagopal in his letter.

The MPs put in their papers three days after the Speaker rejected resignations of as many as 13 MPs including them holding that they were "not voluntary or genuine".

Hari said they gave their resignation letters to Lok Sabha secretary general on Monday.

When his attention was drawn to reports that there was no possibility of filing an appeal for reconsideration of Speaker's decision, the MP said, they had the right to put in their papers.

"She has constitutional rights. But, as a citizen, my rights are also there and I do not want to sit in Parliament at a time when agitations in Andhra Pradesh are continuing for 70 days," he said.

Hari wondered what "genuine" stands for. "I do not understand what genuine means? As a Parliament member, I met the Speaker and penned down my resignation on September 28," he said.

more from Telangana tangle

KCR says no to Telangana Day, kicks up storm

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao’s refusal to celebrate officially the ‘Telangana Liberation Day’ on Wednesday has disappointed Telanganites and has also raised a storm in the state.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved