HindustanTimes Thu,18 Dec 2014

Three MIM legislators suspended from Andhra assembly

IANS  Hyderabad, August 24, 2009
First Published: 12:23 IST(24/8/2009) | Last Updated: 12:27 IST(24/8/2009)
Three legislators of the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) were on Monday suspended from the Andhra Pradesh assembly for a day for stalling proceedings of the house.


Speaker N Kiran Kumar Reddy announced the suspension of three legislators, including floor leader of the party Akbaruddin Owaisi, and declared that he would not tolerate any indiscipline in the house.

Ahmed Pasha Khadri and Virasat Rasool Khan were the other MIM legislators suspended.

Legislative Affairs Minister K. Rosaiah had initially moved a motion to suspend Owaisi. But when two other other party legislators present in the house strongly protested and rushed towards the speaker's podium, the minister rose again to urge the speaker to suspend them too.

The trouble began during question hour when Owaisi wanted an opportunity to speak on the Indiramma housing scheme for the poor. When the speaker denied him the opportunity, the MIM leader entered into an argument with him and alleged that he was not being treated with respect.

"You can't misbehave. I will not allow indiscipline as long as I am speaker," said Kiran Kumar Reddy. Despite repeated appeals, Owaisi refused to get back to his seat. The speaker asked Owaisi to apologise for his misbehaviour, and when he refused to do so, the minister moved a motion to suspend him.

This is the first time that the speaker has suspended legislators of MIM, considered an ally of the ruling Congress party.

MIM, a strong political force in the state capital, has seven members in the 294-member Andhra Pradesh assembly.

more from India

With Afzal Guru suicide squads, JeM attempts revival in Kashmir

Security agencies in Kashmir are looking into the role of militant squads named after the hanged Parliament attack-convict, Afzal Guru, in the deadly attack on an army camp in Uri on December 5.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved