TN Speaker disciplines 9 AIADMK MLAs for creating ruckus in the House

  • PTI, Chennai
  • |
  • Updated: Jan 10, 2011 14:45 IST

Nine AIADMK MLAs were on Monday suspended from the Tamil Nadu Assembly for creating a ruckus in the House on January 7, when the party disrupted the Governor's address.

The entire opposition held a mock Assembly after walking out twice, following a resolution moved by Finance Minister and leader of the House, K Anbazhagan, seeking action against AIADMK members.

Subsequently, the Speaker, R Avudiyappan suspended nine members of the AIADMK, including its senior leaders, V Jayaraman and C VE Shanmugam, by voice vote.

Protesting the suspension, AIADMK, Left parties and MDMK members staged a walkout only to return to the House later.

However, when AIADMK's demand to raise the suspension issue was disallowed by the Speaker, they trooped out of the House for the second time accompanied by Left parties and MDMK. The opposition members later staged a mock Assembly with AIADMK leader and former Fisheries Minister T Jayakumar acting as the Speaker and various issues, including Niira Radia tapes being discussed.


also read

Swiss black money law to change, India will benefit

blog comments powered by Disqus