Top BJP leaders, Jayalalithaa to attend Modi's oath ceremony today

  • Agencies, Ahmedabad
  • |
  • Updated: Dec 26, 2012 12:06 IST
  • Narendra Modi

    Narendra Modi entered the mainstream politics in 1987 by joining the BJP. Corporate honchos showered praises on Gujarat CM Narandra Modi and termed his leadership as ...

  • Narendra Modi

    In July 2007, Modi became the longest serving chief minister in Gujarat's history when he had been in power for 2063 days continuously. Corporate honchos ...

  • Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi

    (File image) Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi during the valedictory function of Global Investors Summit 2009 in Ahmedabad. Corporate honchos yesterday showered praises on Gujarat ...

  • Narendra Modi

    Narendra Modi flying a kite during the 19th International Kite Festival in Ahmedabad. Corporate honchos showered praises on Gujarat CM Narandra Modi and termed his ...

Top BJP leaders and Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa will attend the swearing-in ceremony in which Narendra Modi will take oath as Gujarat chief minister on Wednesday.

Heavy security arrangements have been made at the Sardar Patel Stadium where Modi will be sworn in as chief minister at a grand function at around 11 AM.

Following the third consecutive victory in the assembly polls, Modi was elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party on Tuesday.

The party’s central observer Arun Jaitley presided over the meeting of the newly elected members of the saffron party at the state capital Gandhinagar.

"Top BJP leaders, including L K Advani, Nitin Gadkari, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu will be present for the swearing-in ceremony of chief minister Narendra Modi," Gujarat BJP spokesperson I K Jadeja said in Ahmedabad on Tuesday.

"Chief ministers of other BJP-ruled states and also of some non-BJP ruled states will be present," he added.

Modi had taken oath as chief minister for the first time in 2001 and then in 2002 and 2007.

Jayalalithaa is among the non-BJP chief ministers who will attend the ceremony on Wednesday. Modi, who maintains a good rapport with the AIADMK chief, attended her swearing-in ceremony after her party swept back to power in Assembly election in Tamil Nadu last year.

With inputs from PTI, HT


also read

Raj to attend Modi's swearing-in today, Uddhav tightlipped

blog comments powered by Disqus