HindustanTimes Thu,25 Dec 2014

Two more Andhra MLAs quit over Telangana

IANS  Hyderabad, July 26, 2013
First Published: 13:04 IST(26/7/2013) | Last Updated: 13:07 IST(26/7/2013)

Two more legislators from Seemandhra on Friday announced their resignation, taking to 19 the number of legislators who quit since Thursday to thwart any decision by the centre to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.


With Congress leadership intensifying their efforts to find a solution to Telangana issue, legislators from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and Andhra regions) are sending their resignations to assembly speaker to stall a possible move to carve out Telangana state out of Andhra Pradesh.

A day after 16 legislators belonging to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and one of the ruling Congress party submitted their resignations, two more legislators of Congress party announced that they are sending their resignations to assembly Speaker N. Manohar.

Sridhar Krishna Reddy and A Prabhakar Reddy, both legislators from Nellore district in coastal Andhra, Friday told reporters that they have faxed their resignations to assembly speaker.

The resignations have created 2009-like situation when legislators from Seemandhra, irrespective of their party affiliations had quit en mass after the centre announced that the process for formation of separate Telangana state would be initiated.

more from India

Talk like Atal Bihari Vajpayee: Some of the best speeches by the former PM

Vajpayee was often commended for his ability to stump his critics, especially in Parliament, with a passionate speech. Perhaps, one of his most memorable Parliament address was from 1996 during the confidence vote of his 13-day-old BJP government.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved