HindustanTimes Sat,20 Dec 2014

Uncertainty dogs major political parties

Hitender Rao, Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, July 27, 2014
First Published: 01:10 IST(27/7/2014) | Last Updated: 01:12 IST(27/7/2014)

The political situation in Haryana appears extremely fluid ahead of the assembly polls, heightening the prospects of a split verdict.

The BJP did unexpectedly well to win seven of the eight Parliament seats. But the party is not expected to repeat its Lok Sabha performance in the assembly polls as it has failed to project its chief ministerial candidate. It also has the daunting task of choosing candidates for the 90 constituencies.

The BJP is aware banking on Prime Minister Narendra Modi might not pay this time. It had a tough time finding credible faces for the Lok Sabha seats; only three had a saffron background. The others were former Congressmen and party hoppers.

BJP’s alliance with Kuldeep Bishnoi’s Haryana Janhit Congress too appears shaky.

The Congress is in disarray after the drubbing in the Lok Sabha polls. Desertions, bitter infighting and rebellion by veteran party leader Birender Singh are not helping its cause.

Chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who faced hostility from party workers and rival factions at several meetings recently, has been on a sop-disbursal spree since November 2013. But he courted controversy following a move to establish a separate Gurdwara management committee for Haryana.

The hopes of Indian National Lok Dal, which performed well in the Lok Sabha polls, rest on the outcome of a petition in Delhi High Court challenging the conviction of party chieftain Om Prakash Chautala in a corruption case. The BJP might team up with INLF, an old ally, if he is acquitted.

more from India

Modi has to go beyond 'Gujarat champion' identity: Harish Khare

Harish Khare's new book, ‘How Modi Won It: Notes From the 2014 Election’, is a masterful personal account, laced with diary notes from the months leading up to elections, and insightful analysis of where the Congress slipped and Modi succeeded.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved