HindustanTimes Thu,21 Aug 2014

Unity helped Cong wrest Kullu

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Kullu, June 30, 2013
First Published: 20:32 IST(30/6/2013) | Last Updated: 20:33 IST(30/6/2013)

Congress candidate Pratibha Singh won from Kullu district by a margin of 32,946 votes in the Mandi bypoll, the results of which were declared on Sunday.


The Congress, which had split into factions during the recent Vidhan Sabha elections, had shook the party in Kullu district, but in this byelection, all factions expressed their solidarity towards  the party; which has shown good result in this election.

According to the data, 1,26,803 voters had exercised their franchise in this byelection in the district.

Pratibha Singh got a lead of 10,144 votes from Sadar Kullu, 10,945 votes from Anni, 3,782 votes from Manali and 8,075 votes from Banjar constituency.

In the recent Vidhan Sabha elections, the Congress was divided into factions as rebels contested election as independent candidates in Kullu district.

Prem Lata Thakur, wife of former horticulture minister Satya Prakash Thakur, contested as independent candidate against Congress candidate Sunder Singh Thakur in Kullu Sadar constituency after she failed to obtain ticket from the party.

Similarly, in Manali constituency, Dharam Veer Dhami contested as Independent candidate against Congress candidate Bhuvneshvar Gaur, which led the debacle of party candidates in both the constituencies.

The relationship turned sour among party workers and divided into factions. Many rebels were ousted from the party for disciplinary action.

more from India

HT far ahead of rivals, confirms fresh audit

This puts at rest, once and for all, the debate over the past six months wherein some readership figures had witnessed a dip compared to past surveys, thereby prompting some publishers to raise questions about IRS’ accuracy.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved