Visa on arrival to be extended to 180 countries

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Feb 06, 2014 01:10 IST

In a major step aimed at boosting tourism, the  government on Wednesday decided  in principle to give visa on arrival facility and the Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) to travellers from 180 countries starting October 2014.

“It is a historic day. Barring the 8 prior reference countries, which includes Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan, Nigeria and Srilanka, we have decided  in principal to give visa on arrival and e-visa to all the 180 countries. But before that, we have to get the  additional manpower and infrastructure  for carrying it out,” planning minister Rajiv Shukla said.

A high level meeting was called by the Planning Commission to given final shape to the proposal.


also read

Hope, anxiety, flurry of emotions for Indians abducted in Libya

blog comments powered by Disqus