HindustanTimes Thu,18 Dec 2014

Zeliang sworn in as Nagaland chief minister

PTI  Kohima, May 24, 2014
First Published: 13:28 IST(24/5/2014) | Last Updated: 13:46 IST(24/5/2014)

TR Zeliang, leader of Naga People's Front (NPF) was on Saturday sworn in as the chief minister of Nagaland following the resignation of Neiphio Rio, who has been elected to the Lok Sabha.

Governor Ashwani Kumar administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 62-year-old first time chief minister and the 11 members of council of ministers at the Rajbhavan.

The NDF-led ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN-III) government was formed in March 2013. Rio demitted office yesterday after being chief minister for over 11 years following his victory in the recent Lok Sabha polls.

Zeliang inducted six new cabinet ministers and retained five. The retained ministers are Noke Wangnao, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Kiyanilie Peseyie, G Kaito and Y Patton.

He promoted parliamentary secretaries C Kipili Sangtam, Dr Benjongliba, C L John, Nuklutoshi, Niekiesalie Nicky Kire to the ministry and the deputy chairman state planning board in Rio;s government, P Longon.

Among those who have been dropped from the cabinet are minister for mealth and family Welfare Imkong L Imchen, minister for school education CM Chang, minister for tourism EE Pangteang, minister for industries and commerce S Pangyuh Phom and minister for youth resources and sports Merentoshi R Jamir.

NPF's top leaders and senior govt officials attended the swearing-in function.

more from India

With Afzal Guru suicide squads, JeM attempts revival in Kashmir

Security agencies in Kashmir are looking into the role of militant squads named after the hanged Parliament attack-convict, Afzal Guru, in the deadly attack on an army camp in Uri on December 5.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved