11 ministers join Gehlot government in Rajasthan | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

11 ministers join Gehlot government in Rajasthan

india Updated: Dec 19, 2008 15:45 IST
KS Tomar
KS Tomar
Hindustan Times
11 ministers join Gehlot government in Rajasthan

After a week’s discussion and consultation with high command and senior state leaders of Congress , eleven cabinet and two state ministers were inducted on Friday into the newly formed Ashok Gehlot-led Congress government in Rajasthan.

Governor S K Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers at the Raj Bhavan in the morning.

The cabinet ministers included Immuddin "Durumyim", Bharat Singh, Bina Kak, Brij Kishore Sharma, Harjiram Burdak, Hema Ram Choudhary, Mahendrajit Singh Malviya, Mahipal Maderna, Master Bhanwar Lal, Prasadi Lal Meena (independent) and Shanti Dhariwal, took oath in Hindi language.

Two Independent MLAs - R K Saini and Golma Devi were sworn in as state ministers.

Chief minister is likely to expand his ministry after the short duration assembly session which may be held during the first week of January to seek the vote of confidence.

Congress had won 96 seats in the house of 200 and sought the help of 11 independents to form the new government in Rajasthan.

Expelled BJP leader and former cabinet minister dr kirori lal meena had fought the election as an independent from two seats and won from Todabhim constituency but lost from swaimadhopur seats.

His wife golma devi is an illiterate woman but won from Mahua in dausa district who was inducted in the cabinet as state minister. Meen refused to join the ministry as he is staunch RSS worker who had revolted against ex chief minister vasunhdra raje who had allegedly humiliated and insulted him when he was minister in her cabinet.

Dr meena said “I want to make golma devi as super rabri de vi of Rajastahn.’