12 MLAs barred from AP assembly | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

12 MLAs barred from AP assembly

india Updated: Feb 23, 2011 23:53 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Telangana issue stalled proceedings in the Andhra Pradesh assembly for the fourth consecutive day on Wednesday, leading to the suspension of 12 Telangana legislators - seven from Telangana Rashtra Samithi, four from the Communist Party of India and one from Bharatiya Janata Party.

The assembly was adjourned three times in the morning as members of these parties continued demanding that the house pass a resolution for the formation of a separate state. The protesting lawmakers also disrupted the budget speech of finance minister Ramnarayan Reddy. Deputy speaker Nadendla Manohar announced the suspension of the 12 legislators for a day. Twenty-one legislators supporting former Congress MP YS Jaganmohan Reddy also staged a walkout.