15 Telangana MLAs submit resignations | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

15 Telangana MLAs submit resignations

india Updated: Feb 14, 2010 15:53 IST
Highlight Story

Rejecting the Terms of reference of the Sri Krishna Committee appointed to go into the issue of separate statehood, 15 MLAs from the Telangana region, including those of the ruling Congress, on Sunday submitted their resignation to Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker.

The MLAs -- 10 from TRS, 2 from Congress, one each from BJP and TDP and Praja Rajyam -- met Speaker N Kiran Kumar Reddy here and submitted their resignation.

The legislators said they resigned in order to mount pressure on the Centre to take immediate steps for formation of a separate state.

"We gave our resignation unconditionally. He (Speaker) called us individually. We stressed on accepting our resignation. We hope many others would resign by evening or tomorrow," senior Congress MLA R Damodar Reddy told reporters.

Though two more Congress MLAs had announced their decision to quit late last night, they, however, did not turn up on Sunday.

Asked if they would attend the budget session of assembly beginning on Monday, Reddy replied in the negative.

TRS MLA and party president K Chandrasekhar Rao's son K T Rama Rao said his party would now go to the people and work relentlessly for realising the goal of a separate Telangana.

The all-party Telangana Joint Action Committee on Saturday decided to start the process of legislators submitting their resignation to mount pressure on the Centre for forming a separate state of Telangana immediately.