152 nominations filed in Nagaland | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

152 nominations filed in Nagaland

india Updated: Feb 15, 2008 21:33 IST

Altogether 51 candidates filed their nominations for assembly elections in Nagaland on Friday, on the penultimate day of filing nominations for the March five polls, official sources said. With this the total number of nominations filed for the assembly elections rose to 152.

Prominent leaders among those who have filed papers are former Chief Minister and NPF Legislature Party leader Neiphiu Rio, CLP leader I Imkong, former Planning Minister and NPF President Shurhozelie, former Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie (NPF), former Medical minister Dr T M Lotha (BJP) and former Home minister Thenucho (NPF), the sources said.

Rio will seek re-election from his home turf Northern Angami-II assembly segment for the sixth consecutive term while Imkong is seeking re-election from Jamgpetkong seat under Mokokchung district.

The last date for filing nominations is February 16, while the scrutiny will be held on February 18 and date for withdrawal of candidature February 20.

While polling will be held on March 5, counting of votes will take place on March 8.