16 years on, SC forms 10-member panel against sexual harassment | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

16 years on, SC forms 10-member panel against sexual harassment

india Updated: Nov 27, 2013 02:21 IST
Bhadra Sinha
sexual harassment at workplace

Sixteen years after the Supreme Court laid down guidelines to deal with sexual harassment at workplace, the top court has finally constituted a committee to probe such incidents reported within its precincts. Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai is heading the 10-member committee. Her brother judge Justice Madan B Lokur too is a member.

Chief Justice P Sathasivam formed the Supreme Court Gender Sensitisation and Internal Complaints Committee (GSICC) in which there are six other female members including a senior woman advocate and the additional solicitor general.

Speaking at the SC lawns on Law Day function, the CJI also mentioned about the alleged sexual harassment charges levelled against a retired SC judge by a woman lawyer. Under attack for not constituting a committee in accordance to the Vishaka guidelines to probe a woman lawyer’s allegations, the CJI assured justice in all respect.

“My colleagues and I have not only endeavoured to maintain but enhance the credibility, faith and trust of the institution. During my short stint, an incident of alleged aberration has come to light through media reports. On the very same day, I constituted a three-member committee to look into it. I assure everyone that justice will be done in all respect,” he said in his address.

The CJI said constitution of the committee got delayed on account of belated receipt of nominations by the Supreme Court Bar Association and Supreme Court Advocates-on-Record Association.