• follow us:

19 scholars honoured by President Pranab

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Aug 15, 2014 15:41 IST

Nineteen scholars of Sanskrit,Persian, Arabic and Prakrit were conferred with the 'certificate of honour' by President Pranab Mukherjee on Friday.

The awards, which are given away on Independence Day, were bestowed on 15 Sanskrit scholars, two Arabic scholars, one Persian scholar and one Prakrit scholar.

An award was also given away to a Sanskrit scholar in the international category, said a government statement on Friday.

The distinction is given in recognition of substantial contribution of scholars in the field of Sanskrit, Persian, Arabic and Pali/Prakrit.

The President also gave away 'Maharshi Badrayan Vyas Samman' to seven scholars in Sanskrit, Persian, Arabic and Prakrit.

also read

Rohith Vemula could have ended life over personal issues: ABVP leader
Show comments