23 policemen get President's medals in J&K | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

23 policemen get President's medals in J&K

india Updated: Jan 25, 2011 22:19 IST

On the eve of Republic Day, twenty three officers and jawans of Jammu and Kashmir Police are being awarded the President's Police Medals for Distinguished, Meritorious Service and Police Medal for Gallantry.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs has decided to award the medals to meritorious policemen and jawans on recommendations of the State Government.

The President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service and President's Police Medal for Meritorious Service awardees of Jammu and Kashmir Police are Inspector General of Police Ravinder Kotwal, Deputy Inspectors General of Police Rajesh Kumar Yadav and Shafkat Ali Watali.

Superintendents of Police Ajit Lal Dogra and Rafi Ahmed Mir, Deputy Superintendents of Police Sodagar Mal Jangral and Shamshir Singh Sambyal have also been awarded Medals for Meritorious Service.

Similarly, the Medals for Meritorious Service awardees include Inspectors Syed Faiyaz Ahmed, Rajinder Kumar Bhardwaj, Mohammad Ashraf Rather and Faiyaz Ahmed Banday, ASI Bashir Ahmed Kumar and Head Constable Showkat Ali.

The Gallantry Medal awardees of Jammu and Kashmir Police include Deputy Superintendent of Police Sheikh Faisal Qayoom, Sub-Inspectors Parvaiz Ahmed, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Mohammad Shafi and Sajad Asad, Head Constable Chamial Singh, Constables Ghulam Mohammad Chichi, Parveen Kumar and Ghulam Mohammad Malik.