4 PMO officials among 27 civil servants given posting orders | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

4 PMO officials among 27 civil servants given posting orders

india Updated: Apr 02, 2015 00:48 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Four PMO officials were among 27 civil servants given posting orders on Wednesday evening, setting the stage for bringing in fresh faces to the Prime Minister’s Office.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet also rehabilitated former J&K home secretary Suresh Kumar who was shunted out by J&K CM Mufti Mohammed Sayeed following slip-ups that led to the release of Kashmiri separatist leader Masarat Alam last month. Kumar was appointed joint secretary in the defence ministry.

Modi also brought in three Gujarat cadre IAS officers including CM Anandiben Patel’s principal secretary Girish Chandra Murmu. The 1985 batch IAS officer — who worked with Modi in the CM’s office – goes to the department of expenditure. The two other, RP Gupta and Raj Kumar will join the coal ministry and economic affairs ministry respectively.

Modi has also inducted former Delhi Transport Corporation chairperson Debashri Mukherjee into the PMO within days of appointing her to the department of personnel & training. The PM’s private secretary Sanjeev K Singla has been upgraded to a joint secretary-level post.
Wednesday evening’s orders come in the backdrop of the decision to replace PMO joint secretary BVR Subrahmanyam, once former PM Manmohan Singh’s private secretary.

The four PMO officials who have been moved out are joint secretary Anu Garg and 1997-batch director-level officers, S SelvaKumar, Sharmila Mary Joseph and Krishan Kumar. Selvakumar will go to the economic affairs ministry on promotion, Krishan Kumar to the commerce ministry and Sharmila Mary Joseph to the National Pharmaceutical Pricing Authority as member secretary.