4th phase of Bihar polls in Maoist den | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

4th phase of Bihar polls in Maoist den

india Updated: Oct 31, 2010 23:27 IST
Ashok Mishra

There will be heavy police deployment in 15 Maoist-affected constituencies that are among the 42 that will go to the polls on Monday. The 42 constituencies include Munger and Lakhisarai, where seven policemen were killed and four abducted by Maoists in early September.

The administration has sounded an alert and put in place multi-layered security for the crucial phase, with the river forces patrolling the Ganga and mounted police keeping vigil in the diaras (land around embankments).

"The central paramilitary forces and armed police personnel have been deployed at all Maoist-affected polling stations," Director General of Police (DGP) Neelmani said.

The DGP said the borders with Jharkhand had been sealed and ground and air surveillance were being done to prevent disturbances during the polls.

Special task force (STF) commandoes and senior police officials would conduct air surveillance on four choppers in Patna, Munger, Bhagalpur and Jamui while mounted military police would patrol the areas along the Ganga.

Of the eight districts going to the polls, seven fall in the most sensitive Maoist-hit districts, in which 90% of the police stations are in what is considered the 'liberated zone' while the remaining two districts have candidates with criminal antecedents.

The districts going to the polls are Patna, Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Jamui, Lakhisarai, Khagaria and Begusarai.

In the Maoist-affected constituencies, voting will stop after 3 pm.

The police will use Google Earth and a phone-tracking system to keep a watch on the movements of ultras in the forests and hills.

"Satellite phones have been provided to policemen in Naxal-affected areas," Neelmani said, adding 64,205 persons have been taken into custody as a preventive measure.

In Patna, women troopers of Bihar Military Police and district police will be deployed at all polling stations.