5 N-E states get Rs 648.3 mn for NREGA | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

5 N-E states get Rs 648.3 mn for NREGA

india Updated: Apr 25, 2007 17:54 IST

The government released Rs 648.3 million to five north-eastern states for implementing the National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (NREGA) on Wednesday, under which 100 days employment would be provided to poor families in rural areas.

The five states are Meghalaya, Sikkim, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur.

The United Progressive Alliance's (UPA) flagship scheme was launched in April 2006 by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi in Andhra Pradesh, under which 200 districts were covered. This year, another 130 districts have been added.

According to an official release, the allocation for the north-eastern states under the scheme is as follows Meghalaya - Rs 256.5 million, Sikkim - Rs 45.1 million, Nagaland - Rs 43 million, Mizoram - Rs 178.4 million and Manipur - Rs 125.3 million.