59.20% voter turnout in Rajasthan, up 9.4% from 2009 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 18, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

59.20% voter turnout in Rajasthan, up 9.4% from 2009

59.20% of over eight million electors cast their ballots on Thursday in Rajasthan's five Lok Sabha constituencies with incidents of minor scuffles between rival political parties reported from a few polling booths.

india Updated: Apr 25, 2014 08:01 IST
HT Correspondent

Rajasthan, where polling was held in five seats - Dausa, Alwar, Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Karauli-Dholpur and Bharatpur - recorded a turnout of 59.20%, which is 9.4% higher than 2009 election figures.

Except Dausa, where voting declined by 3.15% compared to 2009 elections, the balloting was higher in all the seats. The overall voting percentage in the two phases so far stands at 62.9%.

Chief electoral officer Ashok Jain said the polling was peaceful barring one or two minor incidents of violence. Four photojournalists and a driver were injured when a mob attacked them in Santha village in Dausa district.

Their vehicle, cameras and laptops were also damaged. The media team was on way to cover a clash between ITBP personnel and the villagers during the polling.

Jain said that people in a few villages of the five constituencies initially boycotted polls over some local issues, but after persuasion, they cast their votes.

Long queues were seen early in the morning with voters lining up to beat the heat in this desert state.

Rajasthan has 25 parliamentary constituencies, and in the second and final phase voting is being held in the five constituencies. Union minister Jitendra Singh, who is contesting from Alwar constituency, was among the first to cast his vote.

In the first phase April 17, voter turnout of around 63.75% was reported in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies that went to the polls then.

Reports of problems in EVMs came in from Bharatpur, Karauli and Dausa districts, where the machines were repaired or replaced.

India's former cricket captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Jitendra Singh of the Congress and former director general of police Harish Meena and Mahant Chandnath of the BJP, besides Kirodi Lal Meena of the National People's Party are some of the main contestants in the state.

In the 2009 elections, the Congress had won 20 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats from the state, BJP four and Independent one.

Updates from other states polling is Phase 6:

Mumbai | Maharashtra | Tamil Nadu | Madhya Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh | Jammu and Kashmir | Bihar | Assam

Full coverage:My India my vote

In pictures:

Key candidates in fray

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there:

Facts and Figures