7 Jharkhand MLAs ousted | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

7 Jharkhand MLAs ousted

india Updated: Aug 14, 2009 01:42 IST
Madan Kumar

Seven legislators of the Jharkhand assembly on Thursday lost their membership under the anti-defection law.

This is perhaps the first time after the introduction of the Tenth Schedule that so many MLAs have been disqualified in a single day in a such a small assembly. The Jharkhand assembly has 81 legislators.

Speaker Alamgir Alam passed this ruling in nine anti-defection cases, seven months after the hearings in these cases were completed. The Speaker had then announced to deliver judgment in December itself.

The disqualified members include three from BJP and one each from the NCP, Congress, Jharkhand Party, besides one Independent MLA.

The seven legislators are former Transport Minister Enos Ekka, NCP leader Kamlesh Singh, former Health Minister Bhanu Pratap Sahi, Congress MLA from Rajmahal, Thomas Hansda, BJP MLA from Jharia Kunti Singh, BJP MLA from Rajdhanwar Ravindra Rai and BJP MLA from Godda Manohar K. Tekriwal.

As the state is currently under the President’s Rule and the assembly is in suspended animation, these disqualifications don’t hold much significance.