7 women in AAP’s new executive, Kejriwal to lead party for 3 more yrs

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Apr 28, 2016 11:02 IST
Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal was re-elected to the post of party convenor of the Aam Aadmi Party. The 25-member national council now has 18 new entrants. (Raj K Raj / HT Photo)

The Aam Aadmi Party’s national council on Wednesday elected a new 25-member executive.

The new panel has 18 new entrants.

Senior party leader Ashish Talwar, party spokesperson Ashutosh and Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann are part of the new executive.

The national executive is the second-highest decision making body of the party and is elected by the national council. The previous executive had 16 members. This time, 25 people were nominated and elected to the executive.

Women members

The party, after drawing flak for not having a single woman in the national executive, on Wednesday saw its national council elect 7 women members to the executive. The women elected include former CEO and India chairperson of the Royal Bank of Scotland, Meera Sanyal, Maharashtra state unit leader Preeti Sharma Menon, MLAs Rakhi Birla and Bhawna Gaur and advisor to education minister Manish Sisodia, Atishi Marlena. “It was a effort to have more women representatives in the executive,” said party spokesperson Ashutosh.

Members from Punjab

There are five members in the executive from Punjab. This includes MPs Bhagwant Mann and Sadhu Singh, former Lok Sabha candidate Yamini Gomar, Harjot Bains and Baljinder Kaur. The party is contesting elections in Punjab in 2017 and a massive campaign is on in the state.

Punjab state convenor, Sucha Singh Chhotepur, will also be an ex-officio member of the executive as a representative of the state.

New Members

A total of 18 new members were elected on Wednesday. This included party spokesperson Raghav Chadha, MLAs Rakhi Birla, Imran Hussain, Bhawna Gaur and Amanatullah Khan.

State conveners from Delhi (Dilip Pandey), Himachal Pradesh (Rajan Sushant), Prithvi Reddy (Karnataka), Punjab (Sucha Singh Chhotepur) and Madhya Pradesh (Alok Agarwal) have also been made the ex-officio members

Old members

National convener Arvind Kejriwal and senior party leaders Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Gopal Rai, Kumar Vishwas, Pankaj Gupta and Dinesh Waghela were all re elected. Of these all, except Waghela, were also part of the party’s political affairs committee.

Who’s out?

Senior party leader Illias Azmi, Haryana leader Naveen Jaihind, UP leader Yogesh Dahiya and Rajasthan’s Krishnakant Sevada have been left out.

According to some people in the party, Naveen Jaihind was kept out as he likely to become the next Haryana state convener.

also read

Shuffling between capitals: The chaotic journey from Hyderabad to Amravati
Show comments