7th phase of polling tomorrow | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

7th phase of polling tomorrow

india Updated: Dec 16, 2008 12:30 IST
7th phase of polling tomorrow

Fate of 271 candidates including two former CMs Mufti Mohammad Sayeed and Ghulam Nabi Azad would be sealed on Wednesday, as 16 constituencies of Jammu and Kahsmir go to polls in the sixth round of the seven-phase assembly elections.

As many as 20,000 additional security forces personnel and nearly 10,000 local policemen have been deployed at 1,268 polling stations set up in the 16 assembly seats spread over five districts of Anantnag, Kulgam, Doda, Ramban and Kishtwar, official sources said.

While three districts of Kishtwar, Doda and Ramban fall in Jammu division, Kulgam and Anantnag are in the Valley.

Former chief minister and PDP chief Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, who won from Pahalgam constituency in 2004 by-poll, is contesting from Anantnag this time. Although there are 23 candidates in fray, Sayeed's is facing a stiff competition from his former lieutenant and NC state president Mehboob Beg.

Former Chief minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, who like his bete-noire, Mufti Sayeed, entered the state assembly for the first time through by-poll in 2006, is seeking re-election from Bhaderwah constituency.

Though there are 13 candidates in fray, Azad's challenge comes from former advocate general and NC nominee Mohammad Aslam Goni, Sheikh Mujeeb of PDP and D K Kotwal of BJP. Ten former ministers including Abdul Aziz Zargar, Abdul Rehman Veeri, Abdul Gaffar Sofi, Peer Mohammad Hussain, G A Mir, Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed, G M Saroori, Mehboob Beg, Sakina Itoo and Peerzada Ghulam Ahmed Shah are also seeking a re-run in the state assembly. State secretary of CPI(M) Mohammad Yousuf Tarigami is also in fray.

As compared to 2002 assembly elections when 124 candidates were in contest, this time a record number of 271 leaders, including 11 women, are trying their luck in 16 constituencies.

Banihal constituency has largest number of 24 candidates, followed by 23 in Anantnag, 20 each in Kokernag, Dooru, Devsar and Doda, 18 each in Inderwal and Kulgam, 17 in Shangus, 15 in Noorabad, 13 each in Homshalibugh, Bhaderwah, Ramban and Kishtwar, 12 each in Pahalgam and Bijbehara.

Barring death of a PDP activist in a political clash at Dhamhal Hanjipora in Kulgam district, campaigning for the sixth round concluded peacefully on Monday.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was also on a campaign trail and addressed a rally at Khundroo in Shangus segment in south Kashmir on Sunday.

Former chief ministers Farooq Abdullah, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Union Water Resources Minister Saifuddin Soz campaigned extensively for their respective parties.