A look at the race for Orange and Purple Caps this IPL season

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: May 17, 2015 08:34 IST

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) skipper David Warner consolidated his hold on the Orange Cap, smashing an unbeaten 52 against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on May 15. His team, however, lost the crucial game.

Warner had snatched the Orange Cap for IPL's top-scorer from Rajasthan Royals' (RR's) Ajinkya Rahane with his knock of 81 against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) on May 11.

He also became the first to get past the 500-run mark and is on 556 now. Rahane is second on the list with 498 runs, while RCB skipper Virat Kohli comes in next with 480 runs.

Bangalore's other star batsmen, AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle, are also making a rapid ascent up the charts.

The eighth edition of the IPL consists of eight sides - Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Mumbai Indians (MI), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

The race for the Purple Cap for top wicket-taker is also set to go down to the wire. CSK's Dwayne Bravo is leading the charts with 20 wickets. Closely following him are RCB's Mitchell Starc, CSK seamer Ashish Nehra and SRH's Bhuvneshwar Kumar (all on 18 wickets).


From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

Sunrisers Hyderabad prepare to take on Kings XI Punjab at home
Show comments