A night to remember for Indian cricket | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

A night to remember for Indian cricket

The BCCI honours cricketers and former Board presidents for their contribution to Indian cricket, reports Amol Karhadkar.

india Updated: Nov 05, 2006 00:46 IST

Saturday's was a night to remember for the BCCI. Immediately after inaugurating their expansive new office at the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) premises in Mumbai, the BCCI honoured seven cricketers with the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award and 18 captains and eight former Board presidents for their contribution to Indian cricket.

Despite the who's-who of Indian cricket in attendance at the Wankhede Stadium, Mohammad Azharuddin was the focus of attention. The former Indian captain, serving a life ban for his alleged involvement in match-fixing, had reason to smile after the function. “It is a good feeling to have your contribution recognised by the Board,” he said.

Sachin Tendulkar, who was among the three current cricketers felicitated as Indian captains, was delighted to interact with the stalwarts. “It was a special evening,” Tendulkar said. “It gave us an opportunity to interact with our idols in younger days.”

For ex-captain and chairman of national selection panel Chandu Borde, who was presented the C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award, it was a feeling of fulfilment.

“Cricket has given me everything now,” Borde said. “During our playing days, we did not earn so much money, but we had fame. Now, after being honoured with the biggest cricket award in India, I have achieved everything.”

CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award recipients: Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi, Bhausaheb Nimbalkar, Chandu Borde, BS Chandrasekhar, S Venkatraghavan, EAS Prasanna and Bishan Singh Bedi.

Board presidents: PM Rungta, NKP Salve, BN Dutt, IS Bindra, Raj Singh Dungarpur, AC Muthiah, Jagmohan Dalmiya, Ranbir Singh Mahendra. 

Captains: Nari Contractor, MAK Pataudi, Polly Umrigar, Chandu Borde, Ajit Wadekar, S Venkatraghavan, BS Bedi, GR Viswanath, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Dilip Vengsarkar, Ravi Shastri, K Srikkanth, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Virender Sehwag.