Aakash Chopra to represent Rajasthan | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aakash Chopra to represent Rajasthan

india Updated: Oct 14, 2010 19:37 IST

Former India opener Aakash Chopra will be representing Rajasthan in the upcoming domestic season while talented Hyderabad batsman Ambati Rayudu will play for Baroda.

According to a release issued by the BCCI, 23 cricketers will be representing states other than their own as 'guest players'.

The 33-year-old former Delhi captain Chopra last represented Delhi in a Ranji Trophy game against Tamil Nadu last December.

Chopra, who hasn't been in the best of forms and has already past his prime, will now play for Rajasthan who are considered as pushovers in the domestic circuit.

Another notable name is former India batsman Hemang Badani who joined ICL couple of years back and his career never recovered.

Badani will now try to redeem his career representing Haryana. Former India U-19 captain and current IPL side Mumbai Indians player Rayudu will feature for Baroda.

Rayudu made his first-class debut for Hyderabad in 2001-02 but, after a disappointing 2004-05 season, transferred to Andhra for the following season. He returned to play for Hyderabad in 2006 and then played for the Indian Cricket League in 2007.

After serving a two-year ban, Rayudu made a comeback to the Hyderabad Ranji team last season. Veteran Mumbai leggie Sairaj Bahutule will play for Andhra.

Some among the 23 players like Amol Muzumdar, Wilkin Mota have already played one season for their adopted states Assam and Tripura respectively. Similarly Dheeraj Jadhav and Ajay Ratra will represent Assam and Goa for one more season.

Following are list of 23 Guest players with their adopted states.

Sairaj Bahutule (Andhra), Dheeraj Jadhav, Amol Muzumdar, Sriram Sridharan (all for Assam); Munaf Patel, Ambati Rayudu (Both Baroda), Ajay Ratra, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan, Amit Bhandari (All Goa), Aakash Chopra, R R Parida, Hrishikesh Kanitkar (Rajasthan), Manvinder Bisla, Vinit Indulkar, Bhavin Thakkar (Himachal Pradesh), Hemang Badani, Sandeep Singh (Haryana), Yogesh Takawale, Nishit Shetty, Wilkin Mota (Tripura), Deepak A Chougule, Akash Verma (Jharkhand), Kumail Abbas (Jammu & Kashmir).