AAP announces seventh list, Udayakumar included | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AAP announces seventh list, Udayakumar included

india Updated: Mar 18, 2014 17:06 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Anti-nuclear activist SP Udayakumar was among the 26 candidates declared by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in its seventh list for the Lok Sabha elections on Tuesday.

The party, which is looking to contest on more than 350 seats, announced the names for 10 states and one Union Territory in this list and the total number of candidates declared now stands at 268.

Udayakumar, who will contest the elections from Kanyakumari, was the convenor of the People's Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE) which spearheaded the anti-Kudankulam campaign.

It raised questions like land acquisition and disposal of nuclear waste, besides other issues linked to the plant commissioned in Tamil Nadu last year.

AAP's Prashant Bhushan was instrumental in the merger of Udayakumar and his team into the party. He had joined AAP earlier this month.

The party declared eight candidates from Tamil Nadu; six from Bihar, four from Uttar Pradesh, one candidate each from the northeastern states of Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura, one in the Union Territory of Pondicherry and one each from Punjab, Rajasthan and Maharashtra.

Tribal activist Soni Sori and former journalist and member of AAP's political affairs committee Shazia Ilmi figured in party's sixth list of candidate announced on March 15.