AAP's sixth list out; names Soni Sori, Shazia Ilmi | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AAP's sixth list out; names Soni Sori, Shazia Ilmi

india Updated: Mar 15, 2014 21:44 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Tribal activist Soni Sori and former journalist and member of Aam Aadmi Party's political affairs committee Shazia Ilmi figured in party's sixth list of candidate for the Lok Sabha elections announced on Saturday.

The party, which intends to contest on more than 350 seats, announced 55 candidates in this list; 242 so far.

While Ilmi will take on Congress's actor turned politician Raj Babbar from Ghaziabad, Soni Sori will contest against Deepak Karma, son of slain congress leader Mahendra Karma from Bastar.

Sori, 36, was granted bail by the Supreme Court last month in a case lodged against her for allegedly acting as a courier for Maoists. She was arrested in 2011 along with her nephew Lingaram Kodopi for taking protection money from Essar group on behalf of the Maoists.

Sori had recently joined AAP at the behest of party leader Prashant Bhushan who had approached her to contest the Lok Sabha elections on party ticket.

The party also named candidates against bigwigs from the Congress party. Pitted against Karuna Shukla, the niece of former prime minister AB Vajpayee, from Bilaspur constituency, is former JDU leader Anand Mishra, who joined AAP recently. Activist Virendra Vidrohi will contest against former sports Minister Jitendra Singh from Alwar seat.

Also in the list is the first woman director general of police of any state, Kanchan Choudhary Bhattacharya. An IPS officer of 1973 batch, she was the DGP or Uttarakhand and will contest on AAP ticket from Haridwar. The popular teleserial Udaan was based on her life.

Noted activist Pratibha Shinde, who has worked for rehabilitation of displaced persons, will contest on AAP ticket from Raver in North Maharashtra.
The list includes candidates from 13 states and three union territories.

The party declared one candidate each from Northeastern states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Manipur; two each in Kerela and Goa, one each in Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Andaman and Nicobar islands, three each in Uttarakhand and Chattisgarh.

The party also named candidates from Uttar Pradesh (10), Odisha (10), Rajasthan (5), Madhya Pradesh (7), Maharashtra (6).