Abhishek to get Yash Bharti | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Abhishek to get Yash Bharti

india Updated: Nov 10, 2006 01:42 IST

FIRST THE Mulayam Singh Yadav government honoured Dr Harivansh Rai Bachchan. Then it conferred the prestigious Yash Bharti Samman on Amitabh Bachchan and Jaya Bachchan. Now, it is the turn of another member of the Bachchan family, Abhishek Bachchan.

The junior Bachchan will be presented the prestigious Yash Bharti Samman at a function, second time in this calendar year, on November 20 on the CSI Lawns, Gomti Nagar.

But the question being asked is: Is Abhishek eligible for the honour? One of the criteria for the award is that the person being awarded should either belong to Uttar Pradesh or should have spent some part of his life in UP. Later, another clause, that the person being awarded should have made significant contribution to UP, was added to it.

While there can be no controversy over Amitabh Bachchan’s credential for the award, the honour to first Jaya Bachchan and now Abhishek Bachchan has sparked a debate as both are not born in UP, they have not spent any significant amount of time time in the State and have no real contribution worth a mention to the state.

Talking to HT, Mohan Swaroop, secretary (Culture), confirmed that Abhishek was on the award list. “Abhishek Bachchan belongs to UP as his ancestral home is in UP. We got the names from the Chief Minister and are just following his orders,” he said.

Talking about Yash Bharti award function taking place for the second time, he said, “Yash Bharti can take place any number of time.

It depends on the wishes of the CM. Anyway it is taking place for the first time in this financial year.”

The last award ceremony took place in February this year in which 12 ‘achievers’ were awarded.

Others to be awarded along with Abhishek Bachchan on November 20 are Mohd Kaif-cricket, Viveki Rai, literature, Sheetala Singh, journalist, Yogesh Praveen, historian, Uday Pratap Singh,poet, Rajesh Tomar, Taluqdar Yadav, Saikindra Tomar and Jagdish (all wrestlers) and Vijay Kumar.

Interestingly, the name of Manoj Tewari is missing from the list. Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav had announced his name for Yash Bharti at a public function in Etawah some time back.

A few prominent personalities from UP who have still not got the award are KP Saxena and Kishan Maharaj.