Aditi in title clash with Meenakshi | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aditi in title clash with Meenakshi

india Updated: Dec 29, 2006 17:15 IST

TOP SEED Aditi Mutatkar and second seed B R Meenakshi stormed into the final of the second State Bank of Indore All-India Senior Major Ranking Badminton Tournament being organised by the MP Badminton Association at Nehru Stadium on Thursday. In men’s category, Abhnnshyam Gupta and P Kashyap sailed into the finals,

In the first semifinal, top seed Aditi of Maharashtra showed her class in controlling the shuttle. Her placements made her opponent Dhanya Nair run around the court. Aditi won the first game 21-15. After taking 1-0 lead, Aditi played brilliantly and showed her opponent why she was top-seeded. She won the game and the match 15-12 (2-0).

The second semifinal was played between B R Meenakshi and Sayali Gokhale. After wining the first game easily 21-10 (1-0), Meenakshi relaxed in the second game and paid the penalty as her opponent Sayali Gokhale of Maharashtra came back in the game and played brilliantly.

Gokhale corrected her mistakes which she committed in the first game and played like a champion to stun Meenakshi of the PSPB to win the game by 21-15 to level the score 1-1.

After getting a shock treatment in the second game, Meenakshi showed her class and pulled her socks up to play like a champion and won the decider easily by 21-14. The top two will fight for the title.

In the men’s singles semifinal, Abhinnshyam Gupta of the PSBP once again showed his class but not before sweating for his victory. RMV Gurusai Dutt of AP, who had come from the qualifying rounds, stunned Gupta winning the first game 22-20 to take 1-0 lead.

In the second match, Gutpa never lost his concentration. His placements put Dutt in a spot. He found it difficult to return and lost the second game by 11-21 and allowed his opponent to level the score 1-1.

In the decider, Gupta beat his opponent easily by 21-13 to win the match by 2-1 to sail into the finals. In the second semifinal, second seed P Kashyap of AP had an easy match against Thomas Kurien of Kerala. Kashyap won the first game 21-14 to take 1-0 lead.

In the second game, Thomas tried to come back in the game but could not beat Kashyap and lost the game and the match by 19-21. P Kashyap will meet Abhinnshyam Gupta in the final.

In the women’s doubles semifinals, Aparna Balan/BR Meenakshi pair defeated Ruth Misha/Saumya Padhye 21-16 and 21-10. In the men’s doubles semifinal, Sanave Thomas/Rupesh Kumar pair defeated Vineeth Manuel/D Guru Prasad 21-11, 21-8. In the second semifinal, Jaseel P Ismail/Jose George pair defeated T Dinesh/Jayan James 21-19 and 21-13.

In the mixed doubles final, Rupesh Kumar/Aparna Balan beat Jayan James/B Deepthipriyadarshini 21-14 and 21-12 to win the title.