Aditi, Meenakshi, Sayali in semis | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aditi, Meenakshi, Sayali in semis

india Updated: Dec 28, 2006 12:53 IST
Highlight Story

THE TOP three seeds in women category sailed into the last four of the Second State Bank of Indore All-India Senior Ranking Prize Money Badminton Tournament organised by the Madhya Pradesh Badminton Association being played at Nehru Stadium on Wednesday evening.

In quarterfinals, top seed Aditi Mutatkar of Maharashtra posted an easy victory over Ridhi Pajwani of Railways (21-11 and 21-14) and second-seeded B R Meenakshi of PSPB outplayed Aparna Balan of Kerala (21-17 and 21-19).

Third seed Sayali Gokhale of Maharashtra was lucky to sail into the last four when Krishna Deka Raja of Assam had to pull out of the tournament on medical grounds. Krishna had won the first set (21-16) and was leading in the second (13-9) when she twisted her knee.  Dhanya Nair of Railways beat Abantika Deka of Assam by 21-16 and 21-18 to clinch a berth in the last four.

In men’s quarterfinals, qualifier R M V Gurusai Dutt of AP has played brilliantly throughout the tournament so far. Continuing with the same form, he shocked fourth seed and compatriot J B S Vidyadhar (21-18 and 22-20) to steer into the semifinal.

Abhinnshyam Gupta, who beat the top seed in pre-quarters, once again displayed his gritty side to advance. Losing the first set to Sachin Ratti of Railways by 14-21, he came back to take the next two games (21-19 and 22-20). 

Thomas Kurien of Kerala played brilliantly to shock T Tanishak of AP in straight games by 21-10 and 23-21. Second-seeded P Kashyap of AP had to fight hard to beat Sagar Chopda of Air India.

Though Chopda took the first set (21-19), P Kashyap came back strongly to win by 21-19 and 21-8. With this win, he has secured a berth in last the four.

In women doubles quarterfinals, Barnali Raha/Amrita Mukherjee beat Anita Ohlan/K Radhika Reddy by 21-18 and 21-8.
In the second match, V Ruth Misha/Saumya Padhye (both from Karnataka) got the better of Dhanya Nair/Bibari Basumatary by 21-12 and 21-17 to advance to the next round.