After Venugopal, who? | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 17, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

After Venugopal, who?

The past AIIMS Directors who have not toed their political master's line have often been chucked out.

india Updated: Jul 07, 2006 18:56 IST

After the fall of the Janata Party government in 1980, Dr Aggarwal, a Janta appointee, was removed from the post of director AIIMS in "public interest".

He was not given any alternate posting. He moved court on the issue. Though the order was not annulled, the court directed the institute to pay him his salary till his retirement.

That case was similar to Dr Venugopal’s. Then health secretary Krupanarayan, was the Acting Head of the Institute Body at that time.

In 1995, Dr SK Kakkar completed his tenure of five years but wanted to cling on to the post. At that time he was 57 years and four months, while the retirement age was 60.

He defended his case saying he should be kept on the job till retirement. The institute body felt if Kakkar wanted a second term he should go through the normal procedure.

After Venugopal, who?

The Directors' post would be up for grabs if the cabinet approves the governing body's recommendation to remove Dr Venugopal. A search committee will be set up to find a suitable candidate.

How it will be done: The Search Committee will place a global advertisement inviting nominations, which would be short-listed and recommendations will be handed over to the Institute body. The institute body will send final choices to the PMO, where the selection will have to be approved by the Appointments Committee.

Top ten contenders:

*Dr V Kochupillai (Chief, Medical Oncology; Dr TD Dogra (HoD Forensic Medicine); Dr A Sampath Kumar (Cardio-thoracic vascular surgery).

*Dr TP Singh (Biophysics); Dr Surya Bhan (HoD Orthopaedics); Dr KS Reddy (HoD Cardiology) and Dr GK Rath (HoD Radiotherapy)

*Dr KK Talwar (currently heading PGI, Chandigarh)

*Dr RC Deka (currently the Dean)