AIADMK announce candidates for by-polls (RPT) by-polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AIADMK announce candidates for by-polls (RPT) by-polls

india Updated: Sep 16, 2011 17:36 IST
Highlight Story

Former AIADMK MLA M Paranjothi, who oversaw the AIADMK election campaign for party supremo J Jayalalithaa at Srirangam assembly constituency, was today rewarded with a party ticket to contest the October 13 by-election to Tiruchirappaly (West).

Paranjothi represented Srirangam constiuency from 2006-11 before paving the way for Jayalalithaa to contest from the temple town for the April 13 polls.

The by-election to the constituency was necessitated following the death of Mariam Pitchai in a road accident, who had been also inducted in the Jayalalithaa-led cabinet. DMK is yet to announce its candidate for the by-poll and PMK and Vaiko-led MDMK have announced that they would not contest the election.

Meanwhile, Jayalalithaa also nominated A Venkateswaran, party's Puducherry unit Treasurer, for the Indira Nagar (Puducherry) assembly by-poll scheduled on the same day. The election to this seat was required as Chief Minister N Rangasamy, who won from two seats, resigned from Indira Nagar constituency.