AIADMK slips, YSR Cong, TDP at par: Poll tracker | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AIADMK slips, YSR Cong, TDP at par: Poll tracker

india Updated: Mar 05, 2014 00:33 IST
HT Correspondent
Lok Sabha polls

Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa hinted at her prime ministerial ambitions a week ago, but a poll survey conducted in February suggests her AIADMK may not be able to sweep the Lok Sabha polls in the state to put her in a position of absolute strength nationally.

The AIADMK-Left alliance may get between 14 and 20 seats in the state, according to a CNN-IBN/IBN7 – CSDS election tracker. Tamil Nadu has 39 seats and Puducherry 1.

The survey conducted between February 17 and 23, projects the DMK stands to get between 10 and 16 seats, while Congress could either draw a blank or get as many as 4 seats.

The tracker says 45% of all AIADMK voters are not enthusiastic about the party naming Jayalalithaa as PM candidate.

The BJP is projected to secure 12% vote share in Tamil Nadu in February; a drop of 4% since January. The saffron party’s PM candidate, Narendra Modi, ranks second as preferred choice for PM in the state, with 16% approval ratings.

The findings say Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi’s approval ratings have jumped 10% since the January tracker and 21% in TN now prefer him as PM.

In Andhra Pradesh, the survey projects YS Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR (Congress) may get between 11 and 17 seats.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) may get between 10 and 16 seats, while the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and the Congress may get between 6 and 12 seats each.

Andhra Pradesh has 42 Lok Sabha seats. The decision to carve out Telangana from Andhra Pradesh as India’s 29th state has changed the political contours of the state.

The tracker says 46% Telengana respondents believe the Congress handled the division of the state well; a jump of 15% since January.

With 42% vote share, TRS is the preferred choice for voters in Telengana, while the Congress is second at 20%.

In Seemandhra, YSR (Congress) gets a 45% vote share and TDP is second with 39%.