All India Rly cricket championship from March 3 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

All India Rly cricket championship from March 3

india Updated: Feb 29, 2008 16:42 IST

The 53rd All India Railway Men's cricket championship will be held here from March 3 to 13.

S Anantharaman, Chief Commercial Manager of Southern Railway, told reporters that Ranji Trophy players from various states who could not find a berth in the Indian Railway team in the national (Ranji) championship, would be seen in action in the 11-day event.

The matches, being conducted by the Southern Railway Sports Association (SRSA), will be held in two turf grounds here - Railways and ICF. The matches (50-over-a-side) would be held in a round-robin format.

Among the six teams in the fray - Southern Railway, North Eastern, East Central, South Eastern, Chittaranjan Loco Works and Diesel Locomotive Works - the top two finishers will qualify for the knock-out stage, to be held by Konkan Railways in Mumbai later.

Anantharaman,who is also Secretary of the host association, said SRSA has in its ranks P Prashant and Rohan Prem, who had represented Kerala in the Ranji trophy.