All Republic Day chief guests in 1 chart: France tops invite list | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
May 23, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

All Republic Day chief guests in 1 chart: France tops invite list

French President Francois Hollande is the fifth head of state to have been invited from France making the country the ‘most invited’ nation during India’s Republic Day celebrations.

india Updated: Jan 26, 2016 16:33 IST
Republic day

Indian security forces march during the Republic Day parade in New Delhi, India.(AP)

French President Francois Hollande is the fifth head of state to have been invited from France making the country the ‘most invited’ nation during India’s Republic Day celebrations.

From Indonesian President Dr Sukarno, who was the chief guest at the first Republic Day, to Hollande, a total of 58 foreign heads of state have participated as guests of honour.

Here is a graphic that shows all the chief guests who were invited by India in the last 67 years.

Algeria 43AlgeriaArgentina 27ArgentinaAustralia 21AustraliaBhutan 130BhutanBrazil 84BrazilBulgaria 11BulgariaCambodia 7CambodiaDuke of Edinburgh 4Duke of EdinburghFrance 188FranceGreece 28GreeceIndonesia 54IndonesiaIran 45IranIreland 20IrelandJapan 56JapanKazakhstan 51KazakhstanMaldives 33MaldivesMauritius 89MauritiusMexico 23MexicoNepal 41NepalNigeria 67NigeriaPakistan 11PakistanPeru 29PeruPoland 19PolandPortugal 34PortugalRepublic of Korea 52Republic of KoreaRussia 49RussiaSaudi Arabia 48Saudi ArabiaSFR Yugoslavia 25SFR YugoslaviaSingapore 36SingaporeSouth Africa 37South AfricaSpain 24SpainSri Lanka 46Sri LankaTanzania 12TanzaniaThailand 54ThailandTrinidad and Tobago 39Trinidad and TobagoUnited Kingdom 41United KingdomUSA 57USAUSSR 14USSRViet Nam 31Viet NamZaire 14ZaireZambia 17ZambiaFirst Secretary Edward Gierek 19First Secretary Edward GierekFood and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid 8Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul HamidFrancois Hollande 58Francois HollandeGeneral Secretary Nguyen Van Linh 31General Secretary Nguyen Van LinhGovernor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad 3Governor General Malik Ghulam MuhammadKing Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[ 48King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev 41King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah DevKing Jigme Dorji Wangchuck 2King Jigme Dorji WangchuckKing Jigme Singye Wangchuck 73King Jigme Singye WangchuckKing Juan Carlos I 24King Juan Carlos IKing Norodom Sihanouk 7King Norodom SihanoukKing of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck 55King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel WangchuckPresident Abdelaziz Bouteflika 43President Abdelaziz BouteflikaPresident Alan García 29President Alan GarcíaPresident Barack Obama 57President Barack ObamaPresident Cassam Uteem 44President Cassam UteemPresident Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso 38President Dr. Fernando Henrique CardosoPresident Jacques Chirac 40President Jacques ChiracPresident José López Portillo 23President José López PortilloPresident Josip Broz Tito 25President Josip Broz TitoPresident Julius Nyerere 12President Julius NyererePresident Junius Jayewardene 30President Junius JayewardenePresident Kenneth Kaunda 17President Kenneth KaundaPresident Kliment Voroshilov 5President Kliment VoroshilovPresident Lee Myung Bak 52President Lee Myung BakPresident Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva 46President Luiz Inacio Lula da SilvaPresident Mário Soares 34President Mário SoaresPresident Maumoon Abdul Gayoom 33President Maumoon Abdul GayoomPresident Mobutu Sese Seko 14President Mobutu Sese SekoPresident Mohammed Khatami 45President Mohammed KhatamiPresident Nelson Mandela 37President Nelson MandelaPresident Nicolas Sarkozy 50President Nicolas SarkozyPresident Nursultan Nazarbayev 51President Nursultan NazarbayevPresident Olusegun Obasanjo 42President Olusegun ObasanjoPresident Patrick Hillery 20President Patrick HilleryPresident Raúl Alfonsín 27President Raúl AlfonsínPresident Shehu Shagari 25President Shehu ShagariPresident Sukarno 1President SukarnoPresident Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono 53President Susilo Bambang YudhoyonoPresident Valéry Giscard d’Estaing 22President Valéry Giscard d’EstaingPresident Vladimir Putin 49President Vladimir PutinPrime Minister Alexei Kosygin 9Prime Minister Alexei KosyginPrime Minister Andreas Papandreou 28Prime Minister Andreas PapandreouPrime Minister Anerood Jugnauth 32Prime Minister Anerood JugnauthPrime Minister Basdeo Panday 39Prime Minister Basdeo PandayPrime Minister Goh Chok Tong 36Prime Minister Goh Chok TongPrime Minister Jacques Chirac 18Prime Minister Jacques ChiracPrime Minister John Major 35Prime Minister John MajorPrime Minister Malcolm Fraser 21Prime Minister Malcolm FraserPrime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov 11Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor ZhivkovPrime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam 13Prime Minister Seewoosagur RamgoolamPrime Minister Shizo Abe 56Prime Minister Shizo AbePrime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike 16Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias BandaranaikePrime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra 54Prime Minister Yingluck ShinawatraPrince Philip 4Prince PhilipQueen Elizabeth II 6Queen Elizabeth II1950 119501954 219541955 319551959 419591960 519601961 619611963 719631965 819651968 1919681969 1119691971 1219711972 1319721973 1419731974 3119741975 1719751976 1819761977 1919771978 2019781979 2119791980 2219801981 2319811982 2419821983 2519831984 2619841985 2719851986 2819861987 2919871988 3019881989 3119891990 3219901991 3319911992 3419921993 3519931994 3619941995 3719951996 3819961997 3919971998 4019981999 4119992000 4220002001 4320012002 4420022003 4520032004 4620042005 4720052006 4820062007 4920072008 5020082009 5120092010 5220102011 5320112012 5420122013 5520132014 5620142015 5720152016 582016

France was invited five times, followed by Bhutan (four), Mauritius (three), Nepal, Pakistan, Brazil, Nigeria, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, UK, Yugoslavia and the USSR were all invited twice each. Rest were all invited only once.

Erstwhile Yugoslavia’s former President Josip Broz Tito and former King of Bhutan Jigme Singye Wangchuck have had the distinction of being guests of honour twice.

The years 1968 and 1974 were unique as India hosted two chief guests on both the years.