Alumni to create 5 chairs of professors | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Alumni to create 5 chairs of professors

india Updated: Nov 27, 2006 00:23 IST

THE TWO-DAY International Alumni Association Meet of the Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI) concluded here on Sunday with a resolve to muster support for strengthening the institute in near future.

During the open house discussions the alumni supported the idea of forming International Alumni Association with its head office at the HBTI.

The alumni held the election for the office-bearers of the eleven-member executive committee of the association. They unanimously appointed HBTI Director Dr RP Singh patron and elected Harendra Agarwal as president of the association. Onkar Singh and Raghu Raj Singh were elected secretary and Treasurer respectively. Besides, VK Pathak, JSP Rai, PP Srivastava, YK Goel and others were elected members of the executive committee.

It was resolved that the third alumni meet would be held on November 24 and November 25, 2007 on a large-scale. It was proposed that the number of participants should be raised up to two thousand.

It was also decided that at least five chairs of professors should be constituted by the alumni. To this proposal KM Agarwal offered to create one chair of professor.

The alumni resolved to create e-book and e-learning process at the institute to facilitate the students who needed good and rare books. They authorised the patron of the association to put the needs of the institute on the website so that the alumni living in distant countries could learn about them and extend possible assistance.

The alumni also resolved to raise funds for renovating the existing auditorium and advised that the proposal for the autonomy be soon prepared so that they could extend financial assistance to the institute.