Andhra CM sets deadline for commissioning power projects | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Andhra CM sets deadline for commissioning power projects

india Updated: Jul 22, 2009 12:41 IST

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy on Tuesday set December 31, 2013 as “firm and final” deadline for commissioning of all power projects in the state.

“Power is the lifeline for a progressive state like ours. Race against time and complete all the power projects by the deadline,” he told officials of the AP Power Generation Corporation (APGenco) at a high-level review meeting in Hyderabad.

The Chief Minister expressed concern over the inordinate delay in completion of hydro power projects, the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) said in a release.

While 21 new power projects of 16,195 MW capacity have been programmed by AP Genco in the last few years, only two projects of 920 MW were commissioned so far.

Another ten projects of 4063 MW capacity were under construction while only three units (39 MW each) of Priyadarshini-Jurala project were commissioned. Rest of the proposed projects were in different stages of development.

The hydro electric projects include Priyadarshini- Jurala (234 MW); Pochampad Unit-4 (9 MW); Nagarjunasagar Tailpond (50 MW); Pulichintala (120 MW) and Lower Jurala (240 MW).

A hydro power plant with 960 MW capacity has been proposed at Polavaram, a 320 MW plant at Dummugudem and 450 MW plant at Kanthanapally, the CM was informed.