Antaragni-06 from Nov 2 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Antaragni-06 from Nov 2

india Updated: Oct 28, 2006 00:09 IST
Highlight Story

ANTARAGNI-06, THE four-day cultural festival of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT-K) will begin from November 2.

Dancer Astad Deboo would perform on the inaugural night, informed Dr Prawal Sinha, dean of students’ affairs (DOSA). He said that Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt and Padm Shri Dr Nerla Venumadhav, a noted mimicry artiste, would also enchant the audience on the inaugural night.

He said there would be several firsts at the cultural extravaganza. “Students from over 70 colleges of the country will be taking part in the festival. Three prestigious institutes of the city —Harcourt Butler Technological Institute (HBTI), GSVM Medical College and the National Institute of Fashion and Designing (NIFD) will also participate. Over 1500 students from different institutes will attend the festival for the first time,” he added.

Dr Sinha said that an open-air theatre at the Student Activities Centre (SAC) would be set up to screen films. For the first time, a ‘Karaoke Night’ with KJ Subz would be held.

Similarly, street dance event has been introduced in the festival for the first time. The students will also get an opportunity to dance with Deboo. Besides, dramatics events will be organised. After a long gap, ‘Rock Night’ makes a comeback. About 12 bands have given their consent to take part in the competition.

Students of the institute have also proposed to bring out a daily newsletter (‘Dainik Gadar’ in humourous style) during the four-day celebration.

Noted sculpturer A Basu will impart lessons to students in construction of statues and create a 20-feet-high sculpture. Bhupendra from Lucknow will hold a ‘Salsa’ workshop.

On the occasion, a ‘Hasya Kavi Sammelan’ will also be organized. Several poets including Suresh Awasthi, Shiv Om Ambar, Manik Varma, Manjeet Singh, Surya Kumar Pandey and Kavita Tiwari will enthrall the audience.

Dr Sinha said a seven-member steering committee has been set up. It includes Nishant Singh, Saurabh Singhal, Mayank Mandava, Saurabh Khanna Mridul Bharsayian, Mudit Mittal and Ankit Hoshin to monitor the events. Prizes worth Rs 2.5 lakh will be up for grabs, he added.