Are all SP MPs together on nuclear deal? | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Are all SP MPs together on nuclear deal?

india Updated: Jul 08, 2008 22:56 IST

While the UPA counted on 39 MPs of Samajwadi Party for survival, the party faced a revolt within, with two Lok Sabha members declaring themselves against the nuclear deal and claiming that 12 MPs were opposed to the leadership's position on the issue.

To ensure that the party stood together on the issue, SP today held its Parliamentary Party meeting in New Delhi at which 10 MPs were not present.

SP leaders Mulayam Singh Yadav and Amar Singh insisted that the party faced no division and all the MPs would vote for the government to "save" it.

The assertion came even as party MP from Mohanlalganj Jai Prakash Rawat publicly declared that he would defy the party whip on voting for the nuclear deal in the Parliament.

Rawat announced in Lucknow that around a dozen party MPs along with him were ready to vote against the deal on the floor of the Parliament.

He claimed that the party leadership had not taken MPs into confidence on the nuclear deal issue.

His revolt came days after another MP Munawwar Hassan said that he would go against the party on the issue.

Their claims came in the midst of speculation that Muslim MPs of SP were not inclined to support the nuclear deal and were being wooed by BSP.

During the meeting of SP's Parliamentary Party earlier in New Delhi, the leadership said that all the MPs were supportive of the nuclear deal, including the Muslim MPs.

While reading out the party's resolution after the Parliamentary party's meeting, SP general secretary Amar Singh said that the party MPs not only unanimously came out in support of the party's stand on the deal but also welcomed it.