Australia announces team for hockey World Cup | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Australia announces team for hockey World Cup

india Updated: Feb 08, 2010 12:05 IST
Highlight Story

Runners-up of the last two editions, Australia on Monday announced their 18-member squad for the Hockey World Cup to be held in New Delhi from February 28 to March 13.

Coached by former technical consultant of the Indian hockey team Ric Charlesworth, Australia would be aiming to end a 24-year wait for a World Cup title.

The squad is almost the same which won the Champions Trophy held in Melbourne late last year.

“In what can be considered an unexpected selection, 21-year-old striker Kieran Govers has been selected in the squad,” Hockey Australia said in a statement.

Still only a member of the national development squad, Govers made his national debut only 12 days ago during a recent three-Test series against Korea in Hobart.

The other strikers in the squad include Des Abbott, Grant Schubert and Glenn Turner. Jamie Dwyer and Eddie Ockenden will spearhead the midfield.

Defender and 2008 Beijing Olympic bronze medallist Kiel Brown has returned to the team after missing selection for the Champions Trophy squad.